Top 10 Ways To Be Valuable To Your Organization

I have worked for several organizations and managers over last 13 years.  I cannot think of one that put me on a performance plan or had to have a serious sit-down about my performance.  Powerful stuff right?  I didn’t realize I was doing anything different until I was witness to several colleagues being managed out or fired from their jobs.  So why am I different and how can I help you?

I’d like to first thank my parents for teaching me great work ethic, my athletic coaches for instilling discipline, and now my wife and kids for giving me a sense of purpose, responsibility, and goal of being a great example.  People are who they are!  Yes we grow, change, and adapt but our “Core Self” is a constant by the time we enter the workforce.  So if you’ve had success in life, how can you best emulate this in your organization?  Below are the tips I would like to share.

  1. Do Right:  Strong character is the only way to be consistently good at your job.  If you look at the top performers in a orginization (not counting one year wonders) they always lookout for their customers, their company, coworkers, and themselves Long-Term.
  2. Red Face Test: Do not do anything that you would not be proud of in front of a camera for the rest of the world to see.  Sometimes people make choices because it will get them more profit or the sale today only to lose their reputation in the long-run.
  3. Network:  People that are respected and trusted are able to accomplish more than any individual.  If no-one knows your name and isn’t willing to put their name behind yours you are limiting your potential.
  4. Share:  No one likes a selfish person in business or personal life.  If you can help others accomplish their goals while achieving your own goals you will create an eco system of performance in all areas that you touch.
  5. Be the “Go To”:  Customers and colleagues love someone they can count on to when a new opportunity arises.
  6. Professional:  act and look like a professional at all times.  You are continually building and protecting your self brand always put your best self out there.
  7. Keep Your Word:  If you say you are going to do something do it.
  8. Mentor:  Be the person that people trust to groom and lay the foundation of the company culture.
  9. Fearless:  Do not say no to things that make you uncomfortable.  ie, I speak very confidently in small groups but I am not as impactful in front of large audiences.  Being fearless for me would be to volunteer to present in these situations.
  10. Brag Book:  In sales you need to be in charge of your career and make sure your on the career path that you desire.  I keep a file of all my reviews, awards, and successes until the opportunity comes up either internal or external to show my accomplishments.

Share your thoughts below on how you’ve been valuable to your organization or customers.

About Jason B Douglas

I am a results driven sales professional helping others elevate their sales.
This entry was posted in Sales and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

