Consultive Selling

There is more than one way to find success in our professional life.  Each of us has our own unique and different style to sell to our customers.  The important thing is that we find out what are strengths are and maximize them and understand our weaknesses and work on them to minimize their impact.  The best representatives embrace who they are and exude confidence when they are in front of their peers, customers, and leadership team.

Depending on the type of product you are selling your style may differ as well.  I am in the pharmaceutical sales arena and have been for over 10 years.  I love this field because it gives me the autonomy of not being behind a desk all day and running my own business in my territory.  I also get to sell and interact with customers, which I love, but I also have a responsibility to be an expert with my products and disease state.  The medical community counts on representatives like me to provide accurate information on how to best use the products I represent to safely and effectively treat patients and their disease.

My customers are physicians, nurse practitioners’, and physician assistants.  My goal is to keep the product portfolio that I represent for my company stable or growing in market share or absolute sales depending on the products life cycle and competitive environment.  In order to do this outside of the decision makers that I just mentioned there are several other key players that are involved in my day-to-day operations to be successful.  Pharmacists have a say in what a patient takes home with them in their treatment, medical assistants educate patients, process prior authorizations, and help handout product literature that will ensure compliance and understanding on the new therapy that they have been prescribed.

My point being is that it’s NOT all about the final decision maker.

You need to work with all parts of an organization to understand their needs to provide the best solution for the appropriate patient.  My recommendation when you are selling anything is that you keep the end-user in mind, for me it’s the patient.  If I keep the patients best interest in mind and only try to solve an unmet medical need or improve their therapy to help reduce their risks or complications that come along with their disease I know I will be successful.

I believe this to be consultative selling.  What are your thoughts on consultative selling and what strategies have you used to connect with your customers?  Please leave a comment below and share your sales story.

Picture Credit

About Jason B Douglas

I am a results driven sales professional helping others elevate their sales.
This entry was posted in Sales and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

